American Institute of Architects (AIA)/ American Architectural Foundation (AAF) Minority/Disadvantaged Scholarship

Website: Arch Foundation


You’ve got big plans for your future. A scholarship from the Architects Foundation can help you reach them. Every year, the Foundation awards thousands of dollars in architecture scholarships to high school students; to architecture students in NAAB-accredited undergraduate and graduate degree programs; to Architect Registration Exam (ARE) candidates who are working toward becoming licensed architects.

Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship

This scholarship is an early career award that honors the memory of Jason Pettigrew, an emerging architect who was working toward licensure. It helps support emerging professionals who are working toward their license with a scholarship that covers the full cost of the ARE (the Architect Registration Exam) as well as study materials.

The Diversity Advancement Scholarship

This multiyear scholarship supports high school and undergraduate minority students who are entering, enrolled in, or transferring into a NAAB-accredited undergraduate architecture program. Scholarships may be renewed every year until your degree is completed, for up to 5 years ($20,000 total award).

The Payette Sho-Ping Chin Memorial Academic Scholarship

Sho-Ping Chin, FAIA, helped shape the national discourse on women in architecture and design, and this $10,000 scholarship honors her legacy. The scholarship is open to third- and fourth-year women architecture students in a NAAB-accredited undergraduate degree program, as well as women in any level of graduate study in a NAAB-accredited program. In addition to the financial award, recipients also get paired with a senior mentor from Payette for their scholarship year.




The Diversity Advancement Scholarship

  • Must be a US Citizen
  • Have a minimum 3.0 GPA
  • A high school student planning to enroll in a NAAB-accredited architecture degree program; or,
  • A rising second-year college student in a NAAB-accredited architecture degree program; or,
  • A technical school or community college student who has completed high school or its equivalent and intends to transfer to a NAAB-accredited architecture program

NAAB-accredited degree programs may be a five-year Bachelor of Architecture degree, or a four-year pre-professional bachelor degree followed by a Master of Architecture degree. Scholarships may be renewed for up to 5 years (up to a $20,000 total award—multiple scholarships are available).

The Payette Sho-Ping Chin Memorial Academic Scholarship

  • Must be a woman
  • Have a GPA of 3.0 or higher
  • US Citizen
  • Rising 3rd or 4th year undergraduate or graduate student in NAAB-accredited architecture program

Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship

  • Must be a current Associate AIA member
  • hold an active National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) record
  • and be eligible to sit for the Architect Registration Examination (ARE)

Please note: AIA National Associate Committee members are not eligible to apply for the scholarship (this includes members of the advisory committee and regional associate directors).

Student Type
  • freshman
  • sophomore
  • junior
  • senior
Citizen Type
  • Us Citizen
  • Permanent Resident
The Diversity Advancement Scholarship

Applications for the 2019-2020 Diversity Advancement Scholarship will open in late fall 2018. Stay tuned for more details.

Each year, applicants are required to submit the following materials:

  • resume
  • personal essay
  • two letters of recommendation
  • two examples of your creative work
  • estimated college expenses (requires FAFSA)

The Payette Sho-Ping Chin Memorial Academic Scholarship

The applications period for 2018 scholarship is now closed.

Each year, applicants are required to submit the following materials:

  • Resume
  • Personal essay
  • Two letters of recommendation
  • 5-10 examples of your creative work
  • Estimated college expenses (requires FAFSA)

Jason Pettigrew Scholarship

Applications should demonstrate one or more of the following:

  • Significant contributions to the profession at an early career stage
  • Exemplary involvement in community and/or professional organizations
  • Outstanding achievement in the creation, development, and delivery of creative programs for emerging professionals in architecture
  • Passion for pursuit of architectural licensure

Apply online beginning May 7, 2018. The deadline for applications is July 11, 2018, 11:59pm Eastern.

  1. Review eligibility and application criteria (above).
  2. Complete the online application.
  3. Submit the following materials:
    • Statement of contribution to the profession (limited to one page)
    • One professional biography and/or résumé (limited to two pages)
    • Primary recommendation letter (limited to one page)
    • Two additional recommendation letters from a colleague or supervisor (limited to one page each)
    • Proof of eligibility to sit for the ARE
Contact Information

Minority/Disadvantaged Scholarship Program
The American Architectural Foundation
1735 New York Avenue
NW, Washington, DC 20006-5292.
Phone: 202-626-7511