Anita Borg Change Agent Abie Award

Website: Anita Borg Institute


*This award is open to international women and non-binary technologists (non-U.S. residents) regardless of age or education level.

Representation of women in technology is a global issue. The Change Agent Abie Award honors an outstanding international woman (non-U.S. resident with an emphasis on developing countries) who created or expanded opportunities for girls and women in technology.

Nominations are encouraged for professional women regardless of their age or education level.


Award Prizes

  • Recipients are honored by the technical women’s community at Grace Hopper Celebration and invited to give a presentation on the main stage at GHC.
  • The award winner will also have multiple speaking opportunities throughout GHC on their work and accomplishments.
  • All-expense paid trip to GHC.
  • Cash prize of $15,000

Potential nominees should:

  • Demonstrate leadership within their communities
  • Expand opportunities for and influence the careers of girls and women in technology
  • Demonstrate social, cultural, and behavioral impact on advancing women’s participation in technology
  • Recognized locally and are able to make gender and technology a regional/national issue
Student Type
  • freshman
  • sophomore
  • junior
  • senior
  • graduate
Citizen Type
  • Permanent Resident
  • International or Other Visa Status
  • Undocumented

2023 Abie Award Nominations will open soon!

You will need to submit:

  • Two letters of reference from professional contacts of the nominee
    • Endorsers should be chosen to represent a range of perspectives and institutions and provide additional insights or evidence of the candidate’s impact. Each letter should focus on the accomplishments which that endorser can attest to and place in context.
  • The nominee’s biography (maximum of 500 words)
  • The nominee’s CV or resume
  • Landscape orientation high resolution photograph of the nominee (minimum of 5MB JPG)

Want to be contacted when nominations are open for 2023? Fill out the interest form.

History honors women making significant contributions to technology. One winner is selected in each category: Technical Leadership, Social Impact, Emerging Technologist, Technology Entrepreneurship, Emerging Leader in honor of Denice Denton, Educator in honor of A. Richard Newton, Student of Vision and Change Agent.

Contact Information

Questions? Contact